Nortel Insider – by Desk Jockey

The view from one Desk Jockey

A reply

with 4 comments

Note: The following is a reply posted in response to an article on AAN

Unfortunately, these are the facts, plain and simple. There are those that do not like the truth and have personally attacked broadbandbill, protosphere, yes4aapl and myself for using critical thought to explain these failures.

Let me begin by saying that I am a loyal Nortel employee. I love this company and the people that work with me. My coworkers are some of the best and brightest in the industry. It is for this reason that I am most outraged at how Nortel has performed in the past. Not because of the employees (at least the ones I know) but because of poor leadership, again and again.

I, like so many other NT employees, find AAN to be a valuable resource to share our opinions that would otherwise be ignored. Mark you have done a decent job help keep all of us informed. For that reason I found it to be distasteful when others launched personal attacks against you.

The most recent example was a poster who accused Mr. Evans of uncontrollably urinating while writing a blog post that merely linked to an analyst’s negative expectation of Nortel. I naturally found this to be outrageous and after I pointed out this flaw in the poster’s argument the poster later responded with threats of physical violence to “knock me down” and “knock me out”. This is not debate. This is bullying to suppress the facts and news about Nortel.

I came to AAN to find a neutral news source. Like many I had grown tired of the company’s continued disinformation tactics even against its own employees. As recently as this year we had an employee ask why NT stock price was so low. The only answer they got back was that it was media bias and “propaganda”. This is no way to treat employees and insults their intelligence.

I want Nortel to survive. I want Nortel to succeed. But the way to succeed is not to cover up failures, facts or the truth. The way to succeed is to learn from mistakes. Unfortunately there are many who act as mere cheerleaders, turn a blind eye to mis-management all to pump NT and maybe increase their now-worthless shares slightly.

I carry no ill-will towards anyone and wish everyone the best.

Desk Jockey

Written by Desk Jockey

November 19, 2008 at 8:46 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Desk Jockey,

    Thanks for your support, and I admire your willingness to enter the fray. Like you, I would like to see Nortel rebound from its troubles but it’s difficult to see how this going to happen.

    As for the, um, enthusiastic folks who leave comments, they are what they are. That said, there are a lot of really smart people who offer some great insight into what’s happening with Nortel. Their presence makes it all worthwhile.

    cheers, Mark

    Mark Evans

    November 19, 2008 at 8:57 pm

  2. Mark,

    No, thank YOU for your support! Sometimes it seems no one is willing to listen to your very real concerns. AAN is different because there is actual debate going on – debate that concerns me. Therefore you have provide a service that is necessary for the proper and healthy functioning of an environment.

    And thank you for the link off of AAN which I just noticed today! It is somewhat humbling to be beside the likes of the big corporate blogs like Nortel Buzzboard and Mr. Edholm’s blog!

    Desk Jockey

    November 20, 2008 at 8:17 pm

  3. I was under-impressed by the fact that Nortel had to buy out Mike’s non-compete clause! Maybe it is a common practice in business. However, if you sign a contract saying you will not compete, what is your word worth if you break the contract? How ethical is that? Then to turn around and launch this massive Ethics Campaign in the face of your unethical behavior caused a total disconnect for me.

    Reach back to 2007… The stock price started the year close to $27 and ended around $12.50; over 50% drop in value. However, the leadership team received raises of over 20% as well as bonuses. Where is the integrity in that? If I had done my job as well, I would have been out on the street. Which of you had the integrity to say, things are not going well and we are not accepting raises and bonuses until we get this turned around?

    I am not optimistic about the Board of Directors and Leaders of this company having the imagination or integrity to do the right thing or come up with a plan that benefits anyone except themselves.

    Still plugging away, but disillusioned.

    disillusioned

    January 20, 2009 at 11:23 am

  4. The funny thing is you are still holding on to the hope that this jerk Zman will still turn this company around. He should be sitting in prison with all of his thugs and cronies.

    Stop clinging to the hope that Zman will turn it around, he has screwed us in many ways and for most of us set us back years, made us lose our homes, broken marriages, relationships and the list goes on and on.

    So the moral of the story is wake up and get out while you can and you still have your dignity.

    Ex-Nortel

    January 21, 2009 at 9:06 am


Leave a Reply

